Edward & Mrs. Simpson

Edward & Mrs. Simpson

British mini-series based on the Abdication Crisis of 1936, in which King Edward VIII does the unthinkable and proposes to marry an American-divorcee. This causes an uproar within the British Empire.

Episode Guide

  • Edward & Mrs. Simpson - The Abdication (Season 1 Episode 7)
    Season 1 Episode 7:

    The Abdication

    From France, Wallis urges him to fight, but Edward abdicates and departs.

  • Edward & Mrs. Simpson - Proposals (Season 1 Episode 6)
    Season 1 Episode 6:


    As royal negotiations continue, the British press breaks the story, and Edward announces his marriage on radio.

  • Edward & Mrs. Simpson - The Decision (Season 1 Episode 5)
    Season 1 Episode 5:

    The Decision

    The prime minister pressures Edward, who cannot proceed with the coronation and instead goes to South Wales.

  • Edward & Mrs. Simpson - The Divorce (Season 1 Episode 4)
    Season 1 Episode 4:

    The Divorce

    Letters appear in U.S. papers about a divorce for Wallis, but Edward suppresses the news in Britain.

  • Edward & Mrs. Simpson - The New King (Season 1 Episode 3)
    Season 1 Episode 3:

    The New King

    After the death of George V, new King Edward VIII continues to woo Wallis, eventually making it public.

  • Edward & Mrs. Simpson - Venus at the Prow (Season 1 Episode 2)
    Season 1 Episode 2:

    Venus at the Prow

    After showering Wallis with gifts, Edward becomes intimate with her during a yacht cruise.

  • Edward & Mrs. Simpson - The Little Prince (Season 1 Episode 1)
    Season 1 Episode 1:

    The Little Prince

    The Prince of Wales (Edward Fox) meets American Mrs. Wallis Simpson (Cynthia Harris) at his home, Fort Belvedere.